5 GUIDELINES TO VEGAN EATING — ShesTough
Loading...

Blog

5 GUIDELINES TO VEGAN EATING

Please Share this article:

vegan-1600

What is a vegan diet?

A vegan diet doesn’t contain any form of animal products, and that includes meat, eggs, and even dairy products. As long as it is from an animal, a vegan diet abhors it. Typically, a vegan diet contains fruits, veggies, grains, and food products that do not have any animal heritage.

Once most people hear the term “vegan diet,” the first thing that comes to their mind is eating only veggies and drinking water only. Nevertheless, such an ideology couldn’t be more wrong. Vegans are spoiled for choices when it comes to what to eat, and these numbers are increasing every passing day with new vegan recipes. There are now several alternatives that vegans can make use for their daily consumption that support female fitness plans like the one we offer here at ShesTough.

Therefore, if you want to learn more about what it takes to be a vegan, then you should take a look at some of the unacceptable vegan products and their vegan alternatives. The list might take you by surprise, but many vegan alternatives will serve you nicely. From vegan bacon to vegan cheese, there is so much vegan alternatives that will leave you satisfied. So, check the guide below, and see what is right for you.

 

Sweeteners: There are some vegan rules that are extremely strict. Take, for example, honey. Some vegans actually eschew honey from their vegan diets citing the fact that that bees play a role in its production. There are others who, only accept honey if the honey is raised in an eco-friendly way. However, sweeteners like refined sugar are entirely off the list; the reason for this is that one of the production steps of refined sugar involves the use of bone marrow. A suitable alternative is a raw brown sugar made from sugar beet or sugar cane.

 

Meat: This is the golden rule for being vegan; meat is a complete no. From poultry to pork, beef, and just about any other kind of meat is prohibited. The no-list still includes fish and other aquatic animals. Vegans can make do with viable meat alternatives such as seitan, made from bean curds. There are other meat alternatives that are made from grains, tofu, nuts, and other ingredients. Most of these meat alternatives share the same consistency, texture, and taste of several meat products.

 

Dairy: Vegetarians do not eat meat but can consume dairy products; on the other hand, vegans do not eat any animal products, including dairy. Dairy products usually include milk, butter, and so on — there fantastic vegan alternatives to dairy products in the market. You can make use of margarine made from sunflower oil as you butter substitutes, cheddar, mozzarella as your cheese alternative, and soy-based beverages as your milk alternative.

 

Eggs: Eggs are a no-no for both vegans and vegetarians because of their animal heritage. As things stand, there is no vegan alternative for eggs, so vegans who love breakfast foods might feel a little bit disappointed. You might be tempted to use egg whites alone without the yolk, but that is still not a vegan meal, and shouldn’t be used.

 

Gelatine: Simply put, Jell-O is not part of the vegan diet. The reason for this is that one of the primary ingredients used in making Jell-O and other derivatives is horse parts and animal hoof. Both go against the vegan rules, and as such, that makes Jell-O a non-vegan food. Typically, vegans shouldn’t eat any food that is made via the gelatinous process, and that includes gummies and other candies. They fall under the same category as Jell-O.

Check out our vegan programs here on shestough.com – CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your Cart